Who should win championship player of the season?

Unknown-14 copy

The Sky Bet championship today released their shortlist for the Championship players of the season- Anthony Knockaert of Brighton, Dwight Gayle of Newcastle and Chris Wood of Leeds United.

The winner will be announced on Sunday April 9th, but who should win based on the stats of this season?

Unknown-14 copy 2
Chris Wood celebrates one of his many goals this season

Chris Wood is the leagues current top goalscorer on 24 goals, the most recent being his brace against fellow promotion-hopefuls Brighton & Hove Albion. The 25 year old has undoubtedly ¬†been Leeds’ best player of the season and with just 8 games of the campaign remaining Woods will be looking to add to his impressive goal tally to help his side secure promotion.

Unknown-14 copy 3
Gayle signed for Newcastle in the summer

Not far behind the Leeds target man on goals scored this season is Newcastle’s Dwight Gayle, who currently brags 21 goals for the season. With the best goals per minutes played ratio in the league, averaging a goal every 92 minutes, its easy to see why the Newcastle forward has been shortlisted for this award.

Despite a brief injury spell Gayle has managed to continually perform for the Toon army and has helped his side push for the championship title this season with his superb vision and finishing ability. the 26 year old will also certainly be hoping to add to his tally as the season approaches its climax, and will also be hoping he can pick up this award this April.

Unknown-15 copy
Knockaert has been in fine form this season

Last but certainly not least is Brighton’s Anthony Knockaert who has been in fine consistent form throughout the whole campaign. The attacking midfielder currently has 13 goals to his name alongside 7 assists, and also boasts the most minutes played this season from all 3 contenders with 3132 minutes played.

Clearly a very reliable player for Brighton he has helped his side to get where they are so far this campaign, as they currently sit 6 points clear inside the automatic promotion places.

All 3 players will certainly be keen on helping their side secure promotion to the prem this season, but will also no doubt be working extra hard as they keep an eye on their chances of winning this well-respected award at the annual ceremony held in London in April.

Who do you feel deserves to win this award? Let us know your opinion in the comments down below!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s